top of page


The FAW Club Licensing Appeals Body met in Cardiff today (26 April) to consider the appeals of three clubs.

Bangor City (UEFA & Tier 1 Licence), Connah’s Quay Nomads (UEFA & Tier 1) and Llanelli Town (Tier 1) were all refused their relevant Licenses by the independent FAW Club Licensing First Instance Body on 6 April.

All three clubs submitted their appeals against the decisions of the First Instance Body in accordance with the FAW Club Licensing Regulations.

The Tier 1 Licence is mandatory to participate in the JD Welsh Premier League and the UEFA Licence is a pre-requisite for UEFA Club competitions.

With regards to Connah’s Quay Nomads, the independent Appeals Body were satisfied that the concerns raised by the First Instance Body had been addressed. As a result, the Nomads have now been awarded both the UEFA and Tier 1 Licenses.

Llanelli Town were also successful with their appeal for a Tier 1 Licence, having satisfied the Appeals Body in addressing the matters raised by the First Instance Body. Having won the Nathaniel Car Sales Welsh League Division One title, Llanelli Town are now promoted to the JD Welsh Premier League.

In relation to Bangor City, the Appeals Body upheld the decision of the First Instance Body to refuse both the UEFA and Tier 1 Licences.

The Appeals Body were not satisfied that Bangor City has rectified the original concerns of the First Instance Body. As a consequence, Bangor City will be demoted to Tier 2 of the Welsh football pyramid for the 2018/19 season. In addition, the club will not be permitted to participate in the JD Welsh Premier League Europa League Play-Offs.

Clubs are assessed against the following criteria: Sporting, Infrastructure, Personnel, Legal and Financial. The independent Bodies make their decisions on thorough assessment of all the Club Licensing documentation that is submitted by clubs throughout the Licensing cycle.

Following the conclusion of the Club Licensing cycle, the following has been decided by the First Instance and Appeals Bodies.

FAW Tier 1 Licence and UEFA Licence for 2018/19 Season (10 clubs)

Aberystwyth Town Bala Town Barry Town United Cardiff Metropolitan University Carmarthen Town Cefn Druids Connah’s Quay Nomads Llandudno Newtown The New Saints

FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2018/19 Season (6 clubs)

Airbus UK Broughton Caernarfon Town Flint Town United Haverfordwest County Llanelli Town Rhyl

Refused FAW Tier 1 Licence for 2018/19 Season

Bangor City

Withdrawn Applications

Penybont Porthmadog Prestatyn Town

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page